could not contact CloneDeploy server

1. last year

I'm pretty new to CloneDeploy, but have had great success until recently. I have an HP Probook 650 G1 - when I try to add a computer in order to capture the image that I've prepared on the laptop:

Could not contact clonedeploy server. Possible reasons: web service not functioning / a driver could not be found for this nic / did not receive an IP address.

I searched your forms and the only thing I could come up with was a kernel update, so now I'm booting to cd with 4.10.1x64 kernel. symptom didn't change. could you please help? what am I missing?? thanks!

From everything you have shown me I can't see any reason why It shouldn't be working. Do you have any other of this machine. Have you tried other one's, different switch, cables, etc? It seems to me the hardware is working but just isn't getting an address for some reason.

2. clonedeploy

21 Mar 2017 Administrator

If dhcp fails you should get a menu option. If you select display available nics, is anything listed?

3. yes, the loopback and

eth0 : encap: Ethernet, mac address,
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500
    rx packets:71008 dropped:525 (all else:0)
    tx packets:3 all:0

happy to provide more detail if you need :)

4. clonedeploy

21 Mar 2017 Administrator

Does the mac that is displayed match the internal nic? Also, are you certain the correct kernel is being loaded?

5. Yes, MAC is correct. and when I boot to the cd - and then from the boot menu - select Add Computer - the first lines of feedback look like:
    loading /clonedeploy/4.10.1x64.... ok
    loading /cloandeploy/initrd.xz...

6. clonedeploy

22 Mar 2017 Administrator

Could you try assigning a static ip to rule out a dhcp issue? It should be an option in that menu after it fails. Then we can move on to diagnosing the driver issue if that doesn't work.

7. Assigned static ip - got the following in return:
    ifdown interface eth0 not configured