That would explain it. Not sure how it got deleted. CloneDeploy does not delete schema files. Only an entire image if requested. Do you still have an upload log for that image?, if so we can recreate the schema file.
Unless they realized it and shut it off. It's the only thing I can think of at the moment. That's the only time the image folder would be erased but the definition would still exist in the web interface.