choose which NIC to use on client side

• Hi All,

I have machines with 10gbit extension cards and onboard 1gbit NICs. Clonedeploy can be reached through both, and the onboard NIC is used by default. I'd like to try the 10gbit ports first. How do I configure that? Searching the forum carefully, i came across the kernel parameter "net_if=eth1", but i am not fully sure what to do with that. I assume i should build a custom kernel, and set that (but the right NIC name) in a config file somewhere before compiling? Just confirming i'm heading in the right direction before i waste a lot of time (I'm new to Linux, so this won't be easy anyway 😉

All the best and thanks!

• Are you pxe booting? If so just specify

net_if=eth1

in the image profile pxe boot options kernel arguments.

• Yes, i am PXE booting. Will try, thanks!!

However, it seems the NIC is not known to the boot environment. Searching the forum more i found the right commands for the client command line, see hmm, upload didn't work. Here's this image for the output. The 10gbit NIC (it has two ports) is not listed in ifconfig. Guess here i do need to build a custom kernel to have it show up? (Though NIC works out of the box on Ubuntu)

• This post is deleted!

• have you tried the latest kernel, 5.0rc7

• Thanks for the quick replies!
    net_if=eth1 works to select the other onboard port, but the two 10gbit port are not selectable, also with the 5.0rc7 kernel. The driver needed is qede. I guess I should build my own kernel?

That said, I think i need to switch to WinPE to get enough performance out of the NIC when copying from an SMB share. I will open a separate question around this.